Be My Guest

Guests can sometimes be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on the situation and who is the guest. Sometimes people are really excited to have guests, while others not so much. Many people purposefully go out of their way to avoid having planned guests or even sudden guests. Other embrace guests with wide open arms and wants to have as many guests as possible and have them as often as possible. I can kind of lean on the teeter where sometimes I want guest’s and other times not so much. I do like when family and friends visit, and other times I am like, “Eh, not today.” If I am doing too much stuff all the time, the last thing on my mind is having someone over. Other times if I have been disinterested to long or haven’t seen someone in a while I will definitely welcome guests. It’s weird though because sometimes even though you may not want guest’s or certain guests to visit, sometimes you need those guests to visit. It becomes very apparent during and after the visit how important this guest may have been.

One thing that is interesting to me is the fact that, even though we may not want guests of our own, we are constant guests. Guests to this world and earth that come and go. No one knows for how long they stay, some short and some long. We hopefully try to make the most of it while we stay on this land, but to me it seems not everyone gets that chance. This is where the unfortunate guest’s come into play, where you have the one’s you want, and the one’s you don’t. We are all forced to be here, and it could be something wonderful or it could be something absolutely horrible. It’s all in how we see it, and how make things work. Some people are dealt hands that just can’t be worked with, while others are dealt the best of the best. Again though, it is all about how we perceive things, and I know there are times when I perceive things horribly.  I also have moments where things are going in my favor and therefore am having the best time ever. We can all have great lives and we can all be great guests, we just have to find what makes us happy, and what makes it worth it.

As I walk down the long road ahead, it’s clear to me how dark it really is. No sound, no sight, no feeling. It all seems very strange, and yet all so clear. When no one and nothing is around, it seems easier to deal with things that have troubled you, but it also seems very scary. Sometimes isolation can make things so clear to oneself, and other times it can make things worse and appear terrifying. As I continue to walk I start to hear the crunch of leaves that scatter across the ground. I hear the wind whistle through the tree’s and the sound of animals rustling around. I look up at the clear black sky that shows nothing but blinking lights that slowly guide me to where I need to be. I look all around me and at first it seems black, but I slowly start to see, one by one, eyes that glow staring back at me. I start to realize of course I’m not alone, I am in someone else’s territory. This should have been so clear before, but I was so blinded by my own problems, that I never realized what else was out there, besides myself. I stopped walking and stared up at the sky again, and took a deep breath. I let out a sigh of relief, and because of the cold brisk air, I could see that sigh being released from my mouth. “So this is what it’s like to be a guest in a place you don’t belong.”

Leave a Reply

